About‎ > ‎

Yorkshire Volleyball Association Constitution

1. Name

The Association shall be known as the Yorkshire Volleyball Association, hereafter known as the Association.

2. Organisation

The Association shall be divided into 4 areas: Hull and East Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire. Each area shall have the power to elect its own executive and run its own affairs and competitions, but will be responsible to the executive of the Yorkshire Volleyball Association.

3. Rules and Regulations

The rules and regulations governing the game shall be those currently in force of the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) and any variations that the Association shall deem necessary from time to time.

4. Objectives

a) To promote and encourage in every way the sport of volleyball.

b) To interpret the rules and regulations as published by the FIVB.

c) To act as the senior body for the sport in Yorkshire.

d) To represent the Association's interests within the region and nationally.

5. Membership

a) The Association shall consist of all clubs who affiliate and subscribe to the objectives of the Association.

b) The Executive Committee shall have the power to refuse any application for membership.

c) All affiliations, where relevant, shall be due to the Treasurer by 1st October each year. Affiliation fees shall be decided annually at the Annual General Meeting of the Association.

d) Persons who have no connections with a club may also become members of the Association.

6. Officers

a) The Honorary Officers of the Association shall be:- Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.

b) The Executive Committee shall consist of the Honorary Officers, Chairman and Secretary of the 4 areas, Officials Secretary, Coaching Administrator, Junior Development Officer, Competitions Officer(s) and any other co-opted members.

c)The Executive Committee may also co-opt members to the committee.

d) All Honorary Officers and members of the Executive Committee shall retire annually, but shall be eligible for re-election.

7. Executive Committee

a) The affairs of the Association shall be managed by the Executive Committee consisting of the Honorary Officers and Officers of the Association.

b) The quorum necessary for the transaction of business of the Executive Committee shall be 4, including at least 1 Honorary Officer.

c) Every decision of the Executive Committee shall be by majority vote with the Chairman having a 2nd and casting vote if necessary.

d) The Executive Committee may delegate any of its duties to sub-committees consisting of such persons as it may think fit. Any sub-committee so formed shall, in the performing of its duties so delegated, conform to any regulations that may be imposed on it by the Executive Committee.

e) The administration of the Constitution of the Association shall be vested in the Executive who shall:-

i) Decide all questions of rules and other matters relating to the game, save those involving any alteration of the Constitution.

ii) Decide all matters relating to County matches, teams and competitions, etc, as affecting the Association.

iii) Decide on any questions or matters arising not provided for in the Constitution. The decision shall be final.

iv) Decide on disciplinary matters.

8. Finance

a) The financial year of the Association shall end on 31st of March and an audited statement of accounts up to and including this date shall be presented to the Annual General Meeting. The funds of the Association shall be lodged at a bank or building society and all cheques, drafts drawn on the account shall be signed by 2 Executive Officers.

b) The funds of the Association shall be vested in the Honorary Treasurer and neither they nor any other property of the Association shall be paid or distributed among members of the Association but shall be applied towards the Association's stated objectives.

c) In the event of dissolution, the funds remaining shall be devoted to another organisation whose aims and objectives are similar to those of the Association.

9. Annual General Meeting

a) Not more than 15 months may elapse between Annual General Meetings of the Association.

b) At least 28 days notice, specifying the place, date and time of the meeting, with the agenda, shall be given to members of the Association.

c) All affiliated clubs shall have the right to send representatives. There shall be only one vote per club.

d) All matters shall be decided by a show of hands.

e) With the exception of resolutions to change the constitution all resolutions shall be decided by simple majority.

f) Alterations to the constitution may only be effected by a two-thirds majority vote and only at the Annual General Meeting or an Extraordinary General Meeting.

g) The Secretary shall within 1 month of any General Meeting submit a report to the members of the Association, and after an Annual General Meeting include a copy of the audited accounts and balance sheet.

10. Extraordinary General Meeting

An Extraordinary General Meeting of the Association shall be convened on a resolution of the Executive Committee or within 1 month of the receipt by the Secretary or Chairman of such a request signed by at least 3 members of the Executive or 5 affiliated clubs. The provisions of Article 9 shall apply to Extraordinary General Meetings.

11. Discipline

The Association shall have the power to take appropriate disciplinary action against all affiliated clubs and players within their jurisdiction. Any suspensions shall apply throughout the country if so decided by the Executive Committee.

12. Appeals

There shall be the right to appeal against any decision made by the Executive Committee. The appeal should be made within 7 days in writing to the Secretary and be accompanied by a deposit of £5. This shall be refunded if the appeal is upheld.

Last modified at the Annual General Meeting on 19 May 1997